New Parent Resources

Welcome to Scouting!

Scouting is more than just an activity. It’s an adventure, learning, and discovery around every corner. From STEM to exploring the outdoors, and developing leadership & confidence, your son or daughter will be on the path to discovering their very best “future self” – and they will have fun doing it!

The Central NC Council is divided into 3 geographical areas called Districts. These Districts are Gold Rush (Cabarrus & Rowan Counties), Old Hickory (Union & Anson Counties), and Uwharrie (Stanly, Montgomery & Richmond Counties). Each District is comprised of local Scouting units called Cub Scout Packs, Scouts BSA Troops, Venturing Crews, and Exploring Posts. These units are chartered to a local school, religious organization, or community center.

The Cub Scouting Progam is for boys and girls who are enrolled in a Kindergarten class through Fifth Grade. A Cub Scout Pack is made up of all Grade Levels and meets together once a month. The Pack is led by the [arnent volunteer called The Cub Master. The Scouts in the Pack will meet weekly in age-appropriate groups called Dens. A Den has five to nine members and Meets 2-3 times each month in Den Meetings. A Den is run by a parent volunteer called a Den Leader. 

A Scout Troop is led by a Scout Master as well as an elected youth member called the Senior Patrol Leader. Youth in a Troop organize themselves into smaller, working groups called Patrols. Each Patrol elects a Patrol Leader and among the Candidates, the Senior Patrol Leader is elected to represent the Youth.