About The Central NC Council

For more than 100 years, Scouting has helped build future leaders by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun and adventure in the outdoors. We care passionately about what is happening to kids and our communities – and are dedicated to supporting an exciting, quality program that builds better young people and our future leaders.

Here in the Central NC Council Scouting continues to improve families and our community by serving thousands of youth across 7 Counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Montgomery, Rowan, Richmond, Union, and Stanly. 

The Central NC Council is divided into 3 geographical areas called Districts. These Districts are Gold Rush, Old Hickory, and Uwharrie.  Each district is made up of local Scouting units called Cub Scout Packs, Scouts BSA Troops, Venturing Crews, and Exploring Posts. These units are chartered to a local school, religious organization, or community center.

Scouting activities happen all year long in your local neighborhood or at our beautiful Camp John J. Barnhardt on the 1,000-acre William C Cannon Scout Reservation in New London, North Carolina. 

If you want to get involved with Scouting or have a question about the exciting opportunities Scouting offers our Central NC Council families, please contact us at 704-982-0141. 


Albemarle Service Center Hours

9:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M. (M-F) 
Closed (Sat. & Sun )


Cabarrus Service Center Hours

10:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. (M-F) 
10:00 A.M. - 2:00 P.M. (Sat.)

Closed - (Sun )